P3AbbyRichins

Description: A photograph with a quote. It demonstrates good photography, designing and editing skills.

Process (Program, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I first chose my color scheme. I knew I wanted to do something with primary colors so when my sister came to class wearing colors that could be used in that scheme (orange, red and blue) I decided to take a picture of her. I’ve always loved reading so I wanted to do an inspirational quote with a photo of a book. The green of the grass completed my tetradic color scheme (blue, green, red, and orange). I used a Canon camera from the school library and adjusted the brightness and focus according the situation. I then edited the photo in Photoshop by adding a little more saturation and a lot more vibrancy. On levels, I added more darks to the photo because the sunlight was washing out some of the natural colors. I then added my color scheme and text to the design elements. I used one font, but I added contrast by adding the italics to the author’s name and variation by adding differing font sizes. I used my color scheme in the surrounding borders, the text and the color scheme circles themselves. I then printed off the final project and cut off the white borders to create a full-bleed design.

Message: My message for this poster is to let everyone know that books are good for you and can even become your best friend. It is meant to encourage reading. I could see this poster in a library.

Audience: My audience is very broad. This poster is meant for anyone who can read. That really includes mostly everyone.

Top Thing Learned: The most important thing that I learned was how to use Photoshop. I am no professional by any means, but I am still amazed how a simple photo can be enhanced beautifully by doing the correct things in Photoshop, like adding vibrance/saturation and using the selective color tool.

Color scheme: Tetradic Color names: Blue, Green, Orange, Red

Title Font Name Category: Century Schoolbook Regular/Slab Serif

Copy Font Name & Category: Century Schoolbook Italic/Slab Serif

Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted:

IMG_0242

Date and location you took the photo(s): October 13, 2015/BYUI Amphitheater

4 thoughts on “Project 3: Photodesign

  1. I liked your quote, the background image, and the overall concept. I also love books so this really connects to me. where it falls flat is in your font choice and color scheme. Your choice doesn’t fit with any of the ones in the books. Also, try including some more variety in your fonts. I would have tried bold for the quote and regular for Ernst Hemingway’s name, to provide a better contrast

    Like

  2. I really Like your project! Books always remind me of elementary and middle school, and that’s a good thing. I read like crazy until high school, where it became a hobby to veg out. Anyways, The colors really do a lot to bring me back to the innocence of those times, a real emotional connection. The image is super great as well, and I like the translucent box under the text.

    Check out my blog!
    timbreandfilter.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

